The Big Bash Cricket League

The Big Bash Cricket League
The Big Bash Cricket League

The Big Bash League is a domestic Twenty20 cricket league contested in Australia by the top 8 Australian cricket clubs. It is also sometimes called KFC Cricket League as the league itself is being sponsored by KFC. The league was founded by the Australian Cricket in the the year 2011.

Initially, it was known as KFC Big Bash League which features six state based cricket teams whereas; later on it was replaced by the Big Bash Cricket League who now features eight franchise based cricket teams. Since its inception, this cricket league has always been sponsored by the Fast Food outlet known as KFC.

The Big Bash Cricket League

All the matches of Big Bashs Cricket League are held in Australia in the summers time that starts from the month of December and January. However, it is now among the top eigth sport leagues in the world in terms of most attendance per match. Four cricket teams of the total eight teams were able to win the cricket league at least once.

The league is contested by the following Australian cricket teams; Hobart Hurricanes, Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Sixers, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Renegades respectively. The only teams that have won the league are Sydney Sixers, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Thunder and Brisbane Heat and are known as the Big four cricket teams. The top two cricket teams from Big Bash also qualify for the Champions League Twenty20 which is an international tournament that features all the domestic cricket teams from various countries. However, the Champions League Twenty20 tournament became defunct from onwards 2015.

The Big Bash Cricket League
The Big Bash Cricket League

Champions League Twenty20

The Australian designers had the only power to determine the trophy design of Champions League Twenty20 back in 2011. The design was therefore finalized by the public. It was also proposed that the Big Bash Cricket League would be expanded to the areas which are not supported by International Cricket including Geelong, Canberra, Newcastle and Gold Coast. This proposal had to be implemented in 2012. It also included a Newzealand based cricket team. Former Australian cricketer Mark Waugh on Fox news once commented that such proposal could make the world famous cricket league as a sub-standard league. The proposal was hence dumped be because the proposed cities lacked the basic cricket hosting facilities.

In 2015, The former Newzealand legend and the coach of Melbourne Stars stated that such a proposal should be upheld and the tournament should includes the Newzealand based cricket teams making the league more competetive. He further said that such expansion would widely receive the support all around the world then. His views were also supported by many other including the Former captain of Blackcaps Daniel Vettori and the Brisbane Heat. The chief executive of Melbourne Renegades known as Stuart Conventry also expressed his views in terms of urging the Australian Cricket to implement such proposal by granting each cricket team with the fifth home fixture. He further said that the Big Bash Authority was ready to expand the games from 10 to 8 by adding the fifth home fixture but the decision of Australian Cricket did not make it possible.

Anthony Everard head of Big Bash Cricket League

In 2016, Anthony Everard who is the head of Big Bash Cricket League also stated that he will expand the tournament through a soft launch approach. He also said that the proposed cricket clubs will be given a chance to host cricket including Geelong, Canberra and Gold Coast during the soft launch period.

Since 2011, the Big Bash Cricket Tournament follows the same format every year. All the seasons have 28 group stage matches without expansion. In the case of expansion, a total of 32 group matches have to be featured. However, there are total 8 rounds of the group stage matches with each round containing 4 matches.